TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PPG DCU2021 Clear, how many coats?

Default PPG DCU2021 Clear, how many coats?

Hey guys, so I'm getting ready to shoot my 1966 Chevelle on Saturday. I'm using PPG DBC base and DCU2021 Clear. DT885 slow reducer since it's going to be 80 deg and i'm shooting in a downdraft booth.

I was going to shooting 3 coats of base and then 5 coats of clear, since I'll be doing some pretty aggressive color sanding.

I was talking to the PPG rep today and he recommended I do 2 coats of clear, DA with 1000 grit when dry, and then do 2 more coats on top of that.

What's everyone opinion about that. I've never done that before so I'm not sure I'm comfortable with it, but if it makes that big a difference, which he said it would, I'll try it.

Thanks

Corey

2021 is my clear of choice,

I would put 1 coat, wait appropriate flash time,

second coat followed by a drop coat.

cut with 800 then 3 more coats,

easier to cut for buffing, your edges will have minimum "Meniscus"

i spray with a SATA 5500 RP 1.2 31psi

flake 2.jpg

IMG_8907.JPG

I would follow the PPG rep advice with two coats of clear. Cut with 100 or 1200 grit then do ONE flow coat.

NO car needs 5 coats of clear.

Why do you see yourself doing some "aggressive" sanding of the clear ?

I would switch to mid temp reducer also. Less chance of serious runs and it will still flow out fine. I never use slow reducer, I don't care how hot it is. In fact if it's 90 or above in the paint booth then I'm not painting anyway (too hot for me to paint). With all the paint gear and breathing gear on you would be sweating like a pig and maybe develop a heat stroke.
    LS says "Lets Go Brandon". He's like that.

Thanks for the reply guys. I think I will go with what the rep suggested. Makes alot of sense.

Please don't do 5 coats of clear at once, you will fuck it up, anyone would, too much product, gas bubbles underneath, urethane wave...