TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The dreaded orange peel

Default The dreaded orange peel

Hi everyone,
    First post and I am a hobbyist so go easy on me. I recently painted a 1976 ford truck I am restoring. Bodywork, primer, and basecoat turned out awesome but its the clear that gets me every time, just cant get it to lay down without orange peel. Ended up doing 3 coats, sand, flow coat, then cut and buff and it turned out amazing but I sure would like to "master" clear coat. Im bound and determined to figure this out. So if you had to have a list of adjustments that you would do, what would those be? Just for reference I have a sagola 4600 xtreme and sprayed at around 30psi with the fluid out 2 turns. Tried to stay 4-6" away and still unacceptable peel. Makes me wanna pull my hair out

Default Welcome

Hey welcome to the site. I'm newly registered here to, but have been getting great info from here for a good while. I’m interested to see the responses you get, they’ll probably help me as well for when I start shooting paint.
    Motor Safe,
    Lee

Quote Originally Posted by Lchbuilders View Post
    Hi everyone,
    First post and I am a hobbyist so go easy on me. I recently painted a 1976 ford truck I am restoring. Bodywork, primer, and basecoat turned out awesome but its the clear that gets me every time, just cant get it to lay down without orange peel. Ended up doing 3 coats, sand, flow coat, then cut and buff and it turned out amazing but I sure would like to "master" clear coat. Im bound and determined to figure this out. So if you had to have a list of adjustments that you would do, what would those be? Just for reference I have a sagola 4600 xtreme and sprayed at around 30psi with the fluid out 2 turns. Tried to stay 4-6" away and still unacceptable peel. Makes me wanna pull my hair out