TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: Painting Over Old Paint

Default Painting Over Old Paint

Is it possible to prepare the original faded finish on a 1970 Ford product (acrylic enamel?) and seal it so it can be newly painted without having to strip the body down to bare metal first? The reason I ask is that my '70 Falcon has very faded paint, and has never been repainted. I want to repaint the car, but was hoping to not have to strip it to bare metal. If so, what products would you recommend from start to finish? I've included a link to a photo of the car to give you an idea of the fading. I'm a novice with this so please go easy on me.

http://photos.thetreasureleague.com/...n/PICT0640.JPG

Thanks,
    Otto...
    1970 Falcon standard two door sedan
    http://photos.thetreasureleague.com/1970_Falcon.htm

That is a bodyman's dream of a car to restore ! Wow, and from a painting standpoint if it is AE then you just need to scuff and seal with a waterborne sealer like PPG makes. Check with your paint supplier on which product is recommended for sealing AE for Urethane application..................best of luck

Default The problem with oxydized paint...

Oxydized paint is not a very good base for a paint job. Although you would probably do allright with an epoxy as a sealer I would recommend sanding it down to metal...

Its not that big of a job, you have to sand it anyway and the results will be much nicer and the results will stay nice for a long time.

Frankly, I can get this car disassembled, down to bare metal and primed in one week-end if there are no serious body work to be done...then you are going to live with the results for a long time...what's 2 days...and it will give you an idea of what's under that paint. Sometimes we find some surprises...

Take a look at this stripping tool...
    http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/m...gory_Code=SPAR

With a buffer you can strip the car in a day...(and give your shoulders a good work out...).