TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: quarter panel repalcement

Default quarter panel repalcement

Gentlemen:

I'm in the process of fitting a quarter panel to a 78 firebird. This is my first attempt at this. The previous owner had cut off the old one, but i don't know if he cut enough. The panel wraps around the door jamb, but it was cut straight off to the body. Do i need to remove a small strip running the length of the jamb or do i just overlap it there. I've incluided a pic below...I still need to replace the wheelhouse, so this is just a rough fit to see what fits and what doesn't. Thanks men....

Barry

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...it/aug2009.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...it/aug2008.jpg

Do you have the new quarter panel yet? If the new quarter does not include the jamb then your question is answered. However I usually don't remove the jamb unless it's damaged, I use the backing strip method in order to get a nice butt welded seam on the outer part of the skin.

Thanks Len;

Yes, I have the quarter panel, it came with the vehicle when i purchased it. The quarter has about a 3/4 inch lip on it at the end where it goes around the jam. I guess if i'm reading your reply right, i can cut this lip off, and use a backing strip
    to weld the new quarter on without messing with the jam? (the jam is in good shape.) Thanks.

Barry

That's what I would do, it leaves the jamb nice and clean.

I'm confused, it looks like the Qt. wraps around the jamb and spot welds on the inside. If it is made that way and the car is made that way then do it that way. Use a But weld with the horizontal seem or backing strip methed or what ever looks like the best way to tackel it to you. Just be sure the doors aline with the fenders and the rocker panels. And the trunk lid is alined before you aline the new Qt. with them and weld.