TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: Filling small holes. (non welding techniques)

Default Filling small holes. (non welding techniques)

hey guys!

I recently started work on a 1996 chevy truck. Well not much work, the truck is from out in nevada so no rust. Anyway, it had some running boards on it and for some reason they ran some screws right through the rockers. well they were removed before i got the truck but the holes are still there. I was wondering if there was any product out there that i caould permanantly fix these holes and then paint over them. I dont really want to go the whole welding route if i dont have to. Has anyone ever used JB Weld to fill holes in sheet metal before painting? If so does it hold up?? I know i would have to be careful as it would be a heck of a product to sand (i guess you could grind it.)
    I am just going to use touch up paint to re-paint as the rockers on this truck are nearly 90 degrees to the ground so it will not be seen. My major issue is keeping water out of the rockers as to prevent future rot problems. Anyone have any ideas? Any JB weld type products out there that would work better????

Wayne

dave_demented Guest