TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: 1966 mustang rocker panel welding question

Default 1966 mustang rocker panel welding question

I'm doing a patch on my RH outer rocker panel. I will be stick welding and doing a butt weld. My question is which size rod do I use to get a good clean weld? I'm new to welding so I'll practice on some scrap pieces first but want to use the same size stick for final weld as I used to practice with. I believe the metal is 18 ga...maybe thicker???

Quote Originally Posted by mellis18 View Post
    I'm doing a patch on my RH outer rocker panel. I will be stick welding and doing a butt weld. My question is which size rod do I use to get a good clean weld? I'm new to welding so I'll practice on some scrap pieces first but want to use the same size stick for final weld as I used to practice with. I believe the metal is 18 ga...maybe thicker???
    I wish I could help but in all the years I've been doing car body repairs I've never used a stick welder. We went from brazing to mig welding to metal bonding and never used a stick welder.

Using a stick welder for such thin metal will be very difficult especially for a novice.

If only you could get your hands on a mig, life would be much easier.

sheet steel can be welded with a stick, but like has been said, it's difficult. a lap weld would be easier than a butt weld, and if you can get to the back side and put some copper sheet behind the weld it will help.
    use 1/16 rod, dcen. if the metal's rusty, use 6011. if it's good clean metal use 6013. only use as much power as it takes to produce an arc, do very small welds. try to stay at 20-30 amps or so, the less the better. practice on scrap sheet first do you see what you're up against. if you can put the rocker "in position" it will help a lot. vertical stick on sheet is a real chore. i'd rather gas weld it.
    b marler

Panel bonding adhesive would be the first choice. No muss, no fuss.