TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Marten's '53 build

Default Marten's '53 build

Not sure where to post this or if it is acceptable or not. I am not a big computer guy. First some background. I am a self employed carpenter by trade. I have always been a gear head kind of guy but have never built anything related to cars. or trucks before. Lots of dreaming. I have done a lot of woodworking in the past and still have a shop for that. Life changed for both my wife and I about 5-6 years ago and we had to make some decisions about what we are doing, where we are going and why we do what we do. There is a long story to that but nothing of general importance to the truck you will see. Other then I an now the owner of a pile of parts that look like a '53 Ford F100. I bought it from a guy in New Hampshire, right at the bottom of the state. Through several phone calls and emails we came to an agreement. Took my brother with me and this is what we found.
    IMG_20150402_181754.jpg
    IMG_20150402_181747.jpg
    From there we brought it back....insert lots of stories here..... and then had to figure out what to do.
    Much talk, some reading, and then decided to take the frame to my brothers to have it boxed in.
    IMG_20150517_162709.jpg
    It had an '86 Corvette suspension system from Flatout Engineering installed, well started and I finished it off.
    IMG_20150430_104450.jpg
    IMG_20150430_104556.jpg
    Building my dream one piece at a time.

like any worthwhile project, starting with a solid foundation is key. i think you got that covered. that suspension looks so nice...
    b marler

After some thinking and reviews I came to the conclusion that it would be better to build a new box then rework the old one. there are to many issues with the old one that I wanted to change. So I did some measuring and ordered some steel up. This would also be good practice for welding. That is a skill I have never tried either.
    IMG_20160922_211921.jpg