TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: Patchy piece of Bondo after applying new layer of Bondo

Question Patchy piece of Bondo after applying new layer of Bondo

Picture in link:

Good Morning,

I am new to bodywork, and I applied a fresh layer of Bondo.

However, although the rest of the dogleg is smooth→ there is a patchy area (red circle in the pic) which for some reason is not as smooth as the rest of the newly applied layer.

What is the cause of having a patchy area, *right after* applying fresh bondo?

Thanks!

Hard to say what caused it. Maybe itís from not using enough pressure on the spreader, maybe itís air bubbles. No matter what caused it, you still need to sand it flat. Sand it down and add more filler if itís low. If you find air bubbles you canít fill them. Trapped air in the bubble will push the new filler out. The way I remove them is to take a 1/4Ē drill bit and twist it with my fingers until I get to the bottom of the bubble. After enlarging the bubble like that you have a wide shallow hole that will accept filler.

Bob K

Apply more Apply more pressure on the first pass so that the filler gets pressed into the scratches and bonds well with the surface. Also, after block sanding the filler you may have low areas that don't get block sanded, you should scratch those low spots so that the next coat of filler will adhere properly.

GUIDE COAT VS SPRAY PAINT

What advantage do I have using guide coat over just buying a cheap can of spray paint or even primer?

Quote Originally Posted by Len View Post
    Apply more Apply more pressure on the first pass so that the filler gets pressed into the scratches and bonds well with the surface. Also, after block sanding the filler you may have low areas that don't get block sanded, you should scratch those low spots so that the next coat of filler will adhere properly.
    GUIDE COAT VS SPRAY PAINT

What advantage do I have using guide coat over just buying a cheap can of spray paint or even primer?