TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Detailing business

Default Detailing business

My fixed income isn't enough anymore. I'm 68 yrs. old and I've spent 54 years
    doing paint and body work as a hobby. I've been looking for a way to supplement
    my SS and retirement income. Since I have some experience with painting, I thought
    a small detailing business would be a logical choice. I've watched YouTube "how to videos".
    They all seem to lack the guidance and help I need. Any suggestions or recommendations
    would be much appreciated. Please keep in mind money is limited. Thanks!!!

man, that is tough way to supplement income.it is hard job..

you gotta be like a ninja at your age, regular Jack Lalanne...

Default No Ninja or Jack Lalanne

Since I'm neither, I guess I'm SOL LOL.

I know three people that detail cars, one young and two older and all three make a decent living. One of the older guys advertises on several local town Facebook pages and gets quite a bit of business.

Thanks Len! Do you know of a source for what a basic detail job includes
    and what chemicals and equipment are needed?

Default Detail

Not sure what area you are in but around southern Pa. we have some bigger auto auctions and a lot of detail shops near by.Maybe stop in and see if they would give some advice.Also inside the auctions there are co's who sell all kind of products for the detail shop and may offer classes. Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by sos1 View Post
    Thanks Len! Do you know of a source for what a basic detail job includes
    and what chemicals and equipment are needed?
    I sell a lot of the tools like buffers and polish and the remainder can probably be found at body shop suppliers in your area. LINK

i've done detailing before, it can be tough work. but if you pace yourself it actually is pretty rewarding too. i would imagine you need to be careful how much money you make so you don't mess up you're retirement income.