Thread: Clearcoat Fisheye

Default Clearcoat Fisheye

I did a Fender last night, based fine.

Then I layed the first coat of clear on and it fisheyed.. not the big ones.. Small little ones that look like Pinholes.

They're only in certain areas but numerous.

How do I tackle this??

Redo? or Scuff with 800 (wet or dry?) and clean, then reshoot?

or what is the best way to go at this.

Frustrated. Easy job taking too long.

Thanks.

What brand and number of clear did you use ? (wasn't Kirker was it ?) also which number hardener did you use ?

Not kirker..

U-Pol.. dont have the numbers at hand.

well, i sanded the coat and it was impossible so i just reprimed and so on.

i just finished the new coat.. and..

i see specks.. looking like either air bubbles or bad air line..

not too much but noticable on top of black.

Is there such a thing as not shaking the Clearcoat Bottle???

sorry.. newbie here. :\

Thanks.

Default Never shake clear coat...

It should be stirred slowly not to introduce air in it...and only if it looks like there is something that needs stirring back in from the bottom of the can...

If it based fine and the resulting clear has fine pin holes I would suspect either air entrapment or a solvant reaction/trapping of some sort...It can be caused by a few things like poor atomization or laying the clear on too thick or too many coats or not enough time between coats.