TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: What's SO Good About BC/CC?

Default What's SO Good About BC/CC?

I am a relative newbie hobbyist, but I did successfully shoot a car 2 years ago with ss urethane and I have several jobs ahead of me.

My question is- are there any advantages to using bc/cc urethanes when shooting solid colors? It just seems to me like more work, and more work if you have to repair or reshoot? And isn't there a danger of clearcoat lifting eventually , especially in harsh Florida sun/heat?

What am I missing?

Rick

Single stage will just start fading,so every paint has its ups and downs.

Default let me ask you

Quote Originally Posted by rs899
    I am a relative newbie hobbyist, but I did successfully shoot a car 2 years ago with ss urethane and I have several jobs ahead of me.

My question is- are there any advantages to using bc/cc urethanes when shooting solid colors? It just seems to me like more work, and more work if you have to repair or reshoot? And isn't there a danger of clearcoat lifting eventually , especially in harsh Florida sun/heat?

What am I missing?

Rick
    when is the last time you saw a factory bc/cc job with peeling paint; say over the last 10 years or so. I don't mean from the early 90's?
    I think, for myself, that the clearcoat repair itself is easier than SS. Not talking about getting into the color. But keep in mind you can blend a lot better with bc than you ever will with SS. Blends are a big deal.
    For you? Hey, if you got solid color jobs to do and you make them flow well and look great then don't spend the money on the bc/cc systems. Just make sure we are talking SS URETHANE; not AE with hardener. Henry

Henry-

Well, no I haven't seen any cases of clearcoat lifting on newer cars, now that you mention it.

So you are saying clearcoat repair is easier than SS urethane repair? Hmmm. OK .