TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: HVLP Gun - Air Compressor size

Default HVLP Gun - Air Compressor size

I just bought a Finishline HVLP gun. The specs on it require 13cfm at 40 psi. I have an opportunity to purchase a used Campbell Haufeld 60 gal compressor. Unfortunately the compressor puts out 11.7 cfm at 40 psi. Will this gun properly function with this compressor or should I pass on the deal and get one that exceeds the cfm requirements. I am a novice at painting and probably won't be doing more than a car or two.

Just wanted to say this is my first post, but I have been on this site numerous times. There is some great info passed on here and I really appreciate it. Thanks in advance for all help.

Default CFM requirements

While the gun uses more CFM than the compressor puts out you can probably get away with this compressor because it has a big enough storage tank (60 gal.) to allow you to get around the car without dropping pressure. The problem (in my opinion) is that it's a CH compressor and is "used". This is an economy model to start out and may give you problems other than it's CFM, I'd be real careful about purchasing a used CH compressor.

Thanks Len. I was on the fence about the buying this compressor, but after getting your response I am going to stay away from it and put a few extra bucks into a better one.

Thanks again - Happy Holidays