TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plastic Bumper restore

Default Plastic Bumper restore

I have a bumper which has stone chips absolutely every where. They are right down to the primer (you can see bits of white behind each stone chip). I am fairly sure I don't want to skim coat everything with body filler so I started sanding it all down. This is my first time sanding plastic down. I've been using a 60 grit disc on my DA. I noticed that once I get down the plastic, the texture left behind on the plastic is that of like...a marred tire? It seems like the plastic is quite soft...the surface is not even at all. It does not sand as smoothly as, say, body filler.

That said, what is the best way to do this job? There are lots of little angles and lines along the bumper so I plan to hand sand it as well. My plan right now is to get rid of everything with the 60, hit it with the 100 and then the 150 and hope it turns out well. But because of the plastic's properties, I'm not sure if that's really the right way to do it. (It's an OEM BMW 3 Series bumper from the 1997).

I don't want to cause more damage if I can help it. There is no way around sanding right down the plastic - the stone chips are way too deep. But I'm thinking there might be a better way of doing it? Do it all by handing a block? Stop sanding and use aircraft remover?

Thanks in advance!

I took everyone's advice. Sanded with a finer grit. Prior to spraying adhesion promoter, I took a clean brush and tried to brush off as many plastic shavings as I could. There was tons and tons everywhere within the grains of the plastic. After this, I put thin layers of primer on until I built up a decent layer that I could sand smooth. Tack + solvent wipe, painted. Tack + solvent wipe, clear. It turned out just great.