TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: filler storage/shelf life

Default filler storage/shelf life

Hello all,
    As a hobbyist I don't use my materials up fast. What is the best way to store body filler & hardner so it willl keep for months without spoiling?? I did have it in a refridgerator for a while.
    I opened up my Evercoat Rage Extreme that had been on the shelf for 4 to 6 months and it had a couple honey looking, crispy globs.(smaller than a golf ball in all) I removed the globs and stired the filler with an old egg beater to mix it well.
    I neaded the hell out of the hardner just to be safe. It wasn't hard but it was slightly lumpy.
    I prepared a small amount-it spread easily and dried like normal, however I have very small hard particles in it that are creating havoc during the spreading...It isn't hardner particles(have had that problem before, I believe they are bits of the "crispy globs" that I didn't see...
    I hate to throw out half a gallon of expensive filler....
    Your thoughts/suggestions plz!!!!
    THX....

Quote Originally Posted by Albert View Post
    Hello all,
    As a hobbyist I don't use my materials up fast. What is the best way to store body filler & hardner so it willl keep for months without spoiling?? I did have it in a refridgerator for a while.
    I opened up my Evercoat Rage Extreme that had been on the shelf for 4 to 6 months and it had a couple honey looking, crispy globs.(smaller than a golf ball in all) I removed the globs and stired the filler with an old egg beater to mix it well.
    I neaded the hell out of the hardner just to be safe. It wasn't hard but it was slightly lumpy.
    I prepared a small amount-it spread easily and dried like normal, however I have very small hard particles in it that are creating havoc during the spreading...It isn't hardner particles(have had that problem before, I believe they are bits of the "crispy globs" that I didn't see...