PDA

View Full Version : opinions need if repairwork feasible

TheCoatingStore.com

ionic_slimm
03-03-2006, 07:54 AM
Hello! A relative up mine got into a car accident and wanted me to take a look at repairing his car. The car was hit on the driver side quarter panel. It looks like it was wopped pretty bad but the repair looks doable. Do you think its worth repairing? I'm used to do small work repair like pulling the radiator support but the repair on this will be quite different. What do you guys think? Pics are below for a better view of the damage.

http://www.cs.uno.edu/~tpham3/integra/closeup.JPG
http://www.cs.uno.edu/~tpham3/integra/driverside.JPG
http://www.cs.uno.edu/~tpham3/integra/frontend.JPG
http://www.cs.uno.edu/~tpham3/integra/reardriver.JPG

CDJr
03-03-2006, 08:54 AM
Wowee!!! I hope they were OK, that car took a good lick alright. Im far from an Acura expert, but Id say the best way to assess it would be to make up a list of what all needs repaired and try to get a ballpark figure, maybe see what you can find a donor car for, and whether or not the frame is bent would heavily factor into the equation. The engine compartment looks intact. Still, it looks like a fairly major job to me, but also one that would be a learning experience.

cruzindablvd
03-03-2006, 08:57 AM
To be honest with you. If i was you before you any kind of repairs you sould bring it to a shop just to see if you bent the frame.

Len
03-03-2006, 10:27 AM
I'm pretty sure that the amount of labor and parts involved with that repair is going to exceed the value of the car. Of course if you don't count the value of your labor in the equation then almost anything is repairable.

This is not a job for an inexperienced repairer because the unibody will need to be repaired properly so that the panels align and the car goes down the road straight. Straightening the unibody will usually take some pretty sophisticated equipment but can be farmed out to a good shop if necessary.