PDA

View Full Version : Welding sheet metal

TheCoatingStore.com

jhowell
05-23-2007, 12:47 PM
So I've got this old 928 that I've been toiling away on for the past (almost) year. I finally grew some balls and cut out the quarter panel that needed replacing and got the new one fit and welded in place. Some I'm still a relative novice at this, the seams had larger gaps then I would have like but I managed to get them welded anyway. My problem is grinding don the welds to get them flush. It seems that the surrounding sheet metal bends inward and if I try to grind the weld too much, it grinds away at the sheet metal making it very thin. Obviously copious amounts of filler are in my future, but what I'm wondering is something wrong with my technique that I could possibly change in the future to be like the guy on Speed Network who can weld all day long without every using filler?

88GT
05-23-2007, 01:02 PM
So I've got this old 928 that I've been toiling away on for the past (almost) year. I finally grew some balls and cut out the quarter panel that needed replacing and got the new one fit and welded in place. Some I'm still a relative novice at this, the seams had larger gaps then I would have like but I managed to get them welded anyway. My problem is grinding don the welds to get them flush. It seems that the surrounding sheet metal bends inward and if I try to grind the weld too much, it grinds away at the sheet metal making it very thin. Obviously copious amounts of filler are in my future, but what I'm wondering is something wrong with my technique that I could possibly change in the future to be like the guy on Speed Network who can weld all day long without every using filler?
I use a cut off tool to grind them almost flat and folow up with an angle die grinder and a 3" 50 grit disc to finish. I stop shortly after I get therough the e-coat

Stanger
05-23-2007, 04:18 PM