PDA

View Full Version : advice on flange tool

TheCoatingStore.com

Hurst
04-17-2007, 08:15 AM
I'm looking to purchase a flanger soon and wanted to get yalls opinions. Eastwood has several different styles and I've never worked with one before. I think I'm leaning towards the flanger/punch.

http://eastwood.resultspage.com/auto/flanger

Len
04-17-2007, 09:26 AM
You'll notice that the same model that Eastwood is selling for $129 we sell for $79.50

http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/ap600st8.jpg
Link (http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=AP600ST8&Category_Code=)

dave_demented
04-17-2007, 01:38 PM
ive got a flanger for my air chisel... noisey as hell, but works great

AlexeiVT
04-17-2007, 04:32 PM
I've never used the pneumatic version...but so long as you're willing to invest, then the added convenience of having something that can punch nice clean burr free holes, certainly has its place.

A while back, I purchased one of the hand flangers from Eastwood...I know it should've been obvious from looking at it, but considering that all it is is a pair of Vice Grips w/ some steel welded to the end w/ a bevel ground out, I felt it cost too much for what it was.

And to boot, I didn't actually care for the lap that it left. I figured, by that point, if I was going through the effort of restoring a car, that it wasn't that much extra effort in the sum of things, to just make a pair of my own...so that's what I did, and I made it such that I like the lap that it creates, much tighter and the step is steeper, so I don't have such a large valley to fill.