PDA

View Full Version : Hardner on last coat only

gentleben
03-21-2007, 08:47 AM
Am ready to prime and paint farm tractor with acrylic enamel. I'm thinking of using hardner in final coat only. Will this bo ok or should I use it in all coats...Thank You...Ben

Len
03-21-2007, 09:12 AM
If you're using hardener in a single stage paint then it should be added to all of the coats. Some base coat/clear coat products the hardener is only added to the clear but for acrylic enamel coatings you'll want hardener in ALL of the paint.

Dennis N. Schmidt
03-21-2007, 03:52 PM
Why would you ever not want hardener in all coats? Spraying AE without hardener is just dumb.

gentleben
03-21-2007, 06:07 PM
Len thank you for the help. Dennis I didnt know as I'm new to painting, thats why I came here for the info. Now that I know I will be using hardner in all coats...Thank you...Ben

AlexeiVT
03-21-2007, 06:26 PM
You would either want to use hardener in all coats, or, not use hardener in any coats.

Enamel, if left to dry on it's own, w/out the addition of a hardener, takes a much longer time to reach full cure and hardness, because there is not catalyst added to speed the reaction...you are basically relying on solvent evaporation and that's it (so a longer cure, and a weaker finish).

On the other hand, when you add a hardener, you are introducing something into the mix that will chemically cross-link w/ the resin, accelerate the cure, improve the hardness, and thus improve hold-out, guard against fading, and make for an all around more durable finish.

The question is valid, since there is often more than one way to mix up and spray a batch of enamel...in fact, w/ DuPont's Centari acrylic enamel, there were at one point 4 different ways to mix it up (combining the paint, solvent, and w/ or w/out varying degrees of hardeners/gloss additives, etc.).