PDA

View Full Version : question

TheCoatingStore.com

tommyc
02-01-2007, 02:40 AM
hey...im new to the body work thing...im interested in buying a car...but it was in a front end collision....its a 1998 mitsubishi eclipse GS.....the owner is supplying a new hood bumper and fenders...but the driver side where the fender mounts on at the top is bent....also the portion where the radiator mounts up at the top is bent as well....would it be recommended to sraighten these portions or cut them out of another eclipse and weld them in? Its very thin metal....i think it is aluminum...the car is cheap and other than these 2 areas is in very good shape..i would prefer an email in response to this thread....my email is tommy_cornelison2000@yahoo.com..

Thank you

Phil V
02-01-2007, 02:45 AM
Tommy, there is no way anyone can advise you on that car either way without seeing a picture or two of the damage.

tommyc
02-01-2007, 03:01 AM
okay....ill get those on here as soon as possible...but until then do you have any suggestions?

Phil V
02-01-2007, 03:34 AM
Tommy, there is no way anyone can advise you on that car either way without seeing a picture or two of the damage.

tommyc
02-05-2007, 01:54 AM
for anyone who has worked on a 98 eclipse GS.....does it have a unibody or is the front clip removable....i am workin on gettin pics of the car but that was a thought that crossed my mind....thank you

Phil V
02-05-2007, 02:57 AM
Tommy, definately unibody construction. A true removable front clip type car hasn't existed in at least 20 years (generally speaking).

But the term can be confusing. You can buy a front clip for a unibody car. But you won't be able to just bolt that one piece front clip onto another car because the fender aprons and radiator support are welded in place and not bolted like a true removable front clip type car. In order to have a true removable front clip the car has to have a full frame separate from the body.

tommyc
02-06-2007, 02:23 AM