PDA

View Full Version : panel repair Rust questions

TheCoatingStore.com

ngc414
11-30-2006, 09:10 PM
I recenty purchaced a 81 trans am. I found a few spots on the rear quarters that need replaced. I have cut out the rust to good metal. 2 patches are around 5x3 inches and one is small 1x2 inches. Can panel adhesive be used on areas like rear quarters? Is it much better to weld in the patches? I have also heard of using metal tape and fiber glass filler over the holes? I imagine these would be way to large for fiber glass, but I would rather use a panel adhesive rather than weld. I am new to body work, any advise is appreciated.

TimG
11-30-2006, 11:08 PM
Panel adhesieve works,only thing is,odds are you'll eventually see a faint outline of the patch {ghost or read thru line}
Welding would be best,IF you can do it correctly,BIG difference in welding sheet metal as opposed to say 1/4" plate!
The least little pinhole in a weld will allow moisture to the filler,allowing it to bubble,chance of warpage,fire,any corrosion protection on the backside of the panel will be burned off and must be replaced.
Stay away from the metal tape/tiger hair scenario if you want it to last any length of time.
If you're low on the panel,and particularly if it's a light color,I'd go with the glue,Fusor makes a patch panel adhesieve that sets up pretty fast,and supposedly gives less of a line...
Good Luck!

ngc414
12-01-2006, 09:33 AM
This car is going to be Black. I dont have a way to get behind the panel and protect the back of my welds. Would it be better to use the adhesive in this case? What is the best way to install a patch with panel adhesive?

ngc414
12-01-2006, 11:15 AM
I have been searching for directions on how to use metal bonds with no luck. Is there a step by step breakdown of how to use the metal bond to install a patch that someone could direct me toward?

Iceman
12-01-2006, 12:04 PM