PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have links/info about Paint Booth airflow..

Carrameow
08-04-2006, 06:40 AM
Does anyone have links/info about Paint Booth airflow? I'm trying to prepare my first job methodically and carefully.
It suddenly dawned on me that I really hadn't considered air flow dynamics and exhaust filtering for my garage. I don't just want to throw open the garage door and turn a fan, maybe i can rig up something a little more creative.
After all I am an engineer which makes me either more foolish or more easily fooled, but i would like to study this. I didnt even realize they have special filters for paint exhaust for spray paint booths!!
Can anyone please point me to links that explain paint booth airflow principles? Finally if I ever chance upon 5 acres i will do this right.

CDJr
08-04-2006, 07:18 AM
What I did was.......for exhaust, I took the blower assembly from a central heating unit and mounted it through the wall on one end of the garage and made a box around it to hold filters. Then for intake, I made a simple filter rack the size of my door opening on the other end of the garage so that it holds like eight 20x30 filters (two thick and four tall), and helps cut down on incoming dust when I paint. It moves plenty of air without causing a noticeable stream through the garage. :)

Carrameow
08-04-2006, 07:25 AM
Do paint booth filters at the exhaust help trap VOC's (Volatile Organic Compunds) and reduce odor emission? I saw some on Smartshoppers Inc

Rod (NH)
08-04-2006, 09:56 PM
Does anyone have links/info about Paint Booth airflow? I'm trying to prepare my first job methodically and carefully.
It suddenly dawned on me that I really hadn't considered air flow dynamics and exhaust filtering for my garage. I don't just want to throw open the garage door and turn a fan, maybe i can rig up something a little more creative.