PDA

View Full Version : How can you cut and buff so soon??

TheCoatingStore.com

ToocoolZ28
11-29-2012, 04:50 PM
I am no pro but I have painted quite a few cars. I read on here that some guys cut and buff 24-48 hours after painting, I have buffed as soon as 48 hours but the gloss always seems to die after a week or so requiring another buff. Now I wait about a week after painting and I dont have the problem.
How can you guys do it so soon?
I usually use Omni brand supplies but have used just about every brand out there.

style
11-29-2012, 05:34 PM
I am no pro but I have painted quite a few cars. I read on here that some guys cut and buff 24-48 hours after painting, I have buffed as soon as 48 hours but the gloss always seems to die after a week or so requiring another buff. Now I wait about a week after painting and I dont have the problem.
I usually use Omni brand supplies but have used just about every brand out there.

gloss cant die its not possible what it sounds like is after you buff your filling in your sand marks then they come back after a wash or two..

on second thought gloss dye back can happen if you dont let your base dry enough,but ive never had it take a week..

Len
11-29-2012, 07:29 PM

Style is right, in most cases you'll find that the "die back" is being caused by NOT buffing enough because you see a glossy surface and you think you're done when in actuality you're seeing an oily filler that many polishes use to make you think you're done. Sand the finish up to 2500 or 3000 grit then use a better product like Mistic Cut or Sure Finish and you'll find that you probably won't have the die back problem.

http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/wiz11048.jpg
LINK (http://autobodystore.net/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=ABS&Product_Code=WIZ11048&Category_Code=M3)

pane2k
12-10-2012, 10:09 PM