PDA

View Full Version : Best base coat gun out there .

Mooch
05-08-2006, 03:49 PM
What would you guys say is the best base coat gun out there ?

Cost does not factor in the answer. Mooch

kenc
05-08-2006, 05:58 PM
Harbor Freight purple gun ($12.99) with a 2.2 tip.
Ken.

pane2k
05-08-2006, 06:07 PM
i personally perfer sata.
I've tried devilbiss and im not too fond of them. I've heard hywata or however you spell it is good, but i have no experience with them.
Sata has never given me a reason to look elsewhere.
I use a Sata NR2000 for metallic bases and I use the Sata RP for non metallic bases and clear coat.

If cost isnt factored into the equation i dont think you'd be dissapointed with sata.

Good Luck with your choice.

barthmonster
05-08-2006, 06:55 PM
I've not used one, but studied this a lot. The best basecoat gun for pearls & metallics is the Iwata LPH-400 with the Purple (special) Basecoat Aircap ($99). Sprays at 8.5 psi and lays the pearls like nothing else...
But sure to check this out, even though I've never used one, JUST IN CASE I'm right...

http://autobodystore.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1518

Sid
05-08-2006, 10:22 PM
I'd have to say best gun I've used for base is my Sharpe Platnum 1.5 fluid tip and 2000 air cap. It lay's metalics out great and is very conservitive with the amount of paint it uses.

frostje
05-08-2006, 11:22 PM