PDA

View Full Version : Butt welding questions

TheCoatingStore.com

jmoffett
05-04-2006, 09:40 PM
I am doing some sheetmetal replacement on my Mustang and I'm having some welding issues. I'm a better than decent welder but each time I weld a spot with the MIG the weld rises in the middle (sort of like an elf's hat) and then the weld has a hole in it when ground down. I've dabbled with wire speed and heat, but I can't find a setting that will consistently not do this. What causes this?

After repeatedly filling the holes from the first problem, I ground down the weld flush with both panels. However, when I finished, one side of the weld was raised higher than the weld and the other side. I was very careful to be certain that both panels were flush when I started (I used panel clamps about 3 inches apart), but the high side was the reproduction sheetmetal (thinner). I'm moving from one area to another for each weld and cooling the metal with a wet rag, so I don't think I overheated the metal. What did I do wrong?

As for bodywork, I guess I'll need to hammer the ridge down so I can skim it with filler. Do I use the pointed body hammer for that, or do I use a flat hammer and a dolly behind it (at least the part I can reach)?

John Kelly
05-05-2006, 07:33 AM
Sounds like your shielding gas is not covering the weld. Check the cup nozzle for spatter build up that could be blocking the flow of gas. Or, try adjusting the gas flow up. If you are using flux core, the wire might be bad?