PDA

View Full Version : Young body helper needs advice

VCTech Grad 05
04-12-2006, 07:31 PM
Hi. My name is Ryan and I am a graduate of VC Tech in Pelham AL. I want to start by saying that this site has helped tremendously in my career, and the people on it answered so many questions for me in the past years. The last time i was on this site was when the old boards were still up. I posted pics of some projects i was doing out of my garage (shelby kit car, 72 el camino) and have since decided that this is the career path i want to take. I went through the motions of collision repair/refinishing at vc tech. It is a good, quality school, and i have to admit that i learned more than i thought i would. Not so much from the books, but from the personal experience of the instructors and the repair time. This brings me to my current problem. Upon graduation, i did the responsible thing and put my face in front of every body shop that was reputable and got several call backs for my diligence(btw the school does offer a resume service which sends the resumes to prospective employers, but of all the businesses i went to, i was the only student to actually show up in person showing i wanted to work, a lesson to any students reading this). I took a job at a busy body shop that has a reputation for quality work. I was hired with the promise that I could work under the two head body men in the shop, and at April we would re-evaluate my status to see either a pay raise, go to flat rate, or stay the same. No such meeting was had, and im still at the same rate. That is not what i have a problem with. The problem is i dont get to do anything. I take bumpers off, and the occastional door apart, although usually i dont get to build doors. I have not done filler work in nearly 2 months, I don't get to weld(although I'm I-CAR Certified structural and non) or make any pulls. I can understand the no frame machine use part. But the reason i dont get to do repair work is the shop manager woul